Faculty Profile: David Higney

David HigneyGrant, Konvalinka & Harrison, PC
Previous Courses Taught (6)
  • Environmental Law 2021: This Week With PFAS: Reviewing the News, Rules and Tennessee Activities
  • Environmental Law Forum 2021
  • Environmental Law 2020: PFAS Update: Tennessee Activities and Litigation
  • Environmental Law Forum
  • Environmental Law: Emerging Contaminants
  • Environmental Law Forum 2019

Mr. Higney began his practice in civil litigation and environmental matters with the firm in 1991, becoming a director in 1997. He represents clients on a full range of environmental issues before local, state and federal administrative agencies, as well as in litigation. He provides services to businesses and individuals in the administrative, enforcement, litigation and settlement negotiation contexts involving federal CERCLA (Superfund); Clean Air Act; Clean Water Act and Underground Storage Tank (UST) statutes and/or state-related counterparts. He has represented defendants in environmental criminal matters, investigations and audits. He consults on environmental matters related to various business transactions, including redevelopment opportunities involving Brownfield sites. He has provided advice and counsel to the regulated manufacturing community regarding utility rate making cases in Tennessee for nearly 20 years.

Mr. Higney has been counsel in multiple complex civil litigation, federal multi-district and class action matters, in addition to handling state court matters in both Tennessee and Georgia. He also served on the defense steering committee in the federal multi-district litigation class action involving over 50 defendants (In re Tri-State Crematory Litigation).

He was a member of the Tennessee Bar Association Environmental Law Section leadership council from 2003-2010, and was Chairman in 2009. Mr. Higney is a 2006 graduate of Leadership Chattanooga, and in 2010 was elected President of Leadership Chattanooga Alumni. He has represented the Chattanooga Regional Manufacturers Association since 1992, serving as its Energy chair from 2002 until 2004.