Faculty Profile: Jeffrey Yarbro

Jeffrey YarbroBass Berry & Sims PLC150 3rd Ave S #2800 Nashville, TN 372012002 Work Phone: (615) 742-7793Email Address:
Previous Courses Taught (4)
  • Complex Litigation: Emerging Developments in Class Actions
  • Southeast Complex Litigation Forum
  • Government Contracting in Tennessee: Bid Protests: Process and Practices
  • Government Contracting in Tennessee: How State, Local and Federal Issues Impact Tennessee’s Procurement Environment

Jeff's practice is focused on complex civil, securities and class action litigation and the representation of clients in connection with governmental investigations and regulatory proceedings. 

A native of Dyersburg, Tennessee, Jeff received a B.A. from Harvard University and graduated from the University of Virginia School of Law. During law school, Jeff served as the editor-in-chief of the Virginia Law Review. Upon graduation, he received the Thomas Marshall Miller Prize, awarded to an outstanding member of the graduating class. He also received the Roy H. and Mary Claiborne Ritter Prize and was elected to the Order of the Coif and the Raven Society. Prior to joining the firm, Jeff served as a law clerk to Judge Gilbert Merritt of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

Jeff is actively involved in the community. He serves as the co-chair of the Metro Nashville Public Schools' working group to transform high school education and is one of the founding board members of East End Prep, a charter elementary school. He has served as an education policy adviser to Nashville Mayor Karl Dean. In connection with his work in public education, he received the PENCIL Foundation's Volunteer of the Year award for 2010-11. Jeff is also the Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors and Chair of the Finance Committee for the Metropolitan Transit Authority. He is a veteran of Al Gore's presidential campaign and Harold Ford, Jr.'s campaign for U.S. Senate and remains active in state and local politics. In 2011, Jeff was selected as one of the "Forty Under 40" honorees by the Nashville Business Journal.